Review: Appleseed

Appleseed
The Promethean challenge!

Author
Shirow Masamune

Status
4 Volumes – Completed

Plot Summary
The world has regained peace once again. The war has ended and the earth has been unified under the control of a central management bureau named Aegis. From the city of Olympus, Aegis looks after the whole planet. However, the seemingly peaceful Aegis was not so peaceful at all. ESWAT was formed to maintain peace inside Olympus. Terrorists plans to take over Gaia, the central computer of Olympus, in the rebellion against Aegis. Deunan and Briareos were members of one of the ESWAT teams sent to handle the terrorists. A global conspiracy begins to unravel as they go deeper within the conflict.

Personal Opinion
I don’t even know what to say about this manga. I find this manga confusing. The plot was moving too fast. There are plenty of gaps that I cannot fill when I’m reading it. There are too many questions left unanswered from time to time and in the end I can’t really grasp the whole plot.

Despite that, I think it was actually a great story. A unified earth under the control of one organization trying to create a seemingly peaceful world was a good idea for a story. Adding to that was the fact that there are plenty of people who resist and plot to take over the organization. The result was a conspiracy in the form of terrorism. Fortunately the story about the conspiracy was not that deep. The manga was already confusing enough as it is.

Other that that was the details in the manga. I admire all the technical details that the author managed to add in. Although it made me read the side notes over and over again, I think it was a good combination of futuristic technologies presented in a world full of chaos where police and military plays an important role. I think this is a manga worth reading for fellow manga readers who enjoys mecha manga.

Nevertheless I still stand by my opinion that this manga is confusing. It gives me a headache just reading it. Thus, in general, I would never recommend this manga as something worth reading.

Personal Rating
7/10

[Reviewer: Amir Syafrudin]

Leave a Reply

