Review: Aishiteruze Baby

Aishiteruze Baby
I’ll always be there for you.

Author
Youko Maki

Status
7 Volumes – Completed

Plot Summary
Kippei is a 17 year old boy who loves to flirt. He is a carefree student with passion only for girls. Until one day Yuzuyu enters his life. Yuzuyu is his niece. Yuzuyu’s mother abandoned Yuzuyu without a word leaving the rest of the family confused. One thing led to another and Kippei is in charge in taking care of Yuzuyu. A carefree high school student boy tries to take care of a 5 year old fragile girl. Will Kippei get through until Yuzuyu’s mother returns or will Yuzuyu be another victim of a harsh life?

Personal Opinion
The one and only thing that interests me is the idea of Kippei taking care of Yuzuyu. I find taking care of a 5 year old baby an appealing idea. Kippei’s effort to take care of Yuzuyu is what really interests me. Starting from personally making Yuzuyu’s lunch, dropping her off at her kindergarten, picking her up after she’s done, and so many more things he would do to make Yuzuyu happy. All of those things showed him how to show true love and care. A thing he could never have realized when he’s busy flirting.

Too bad there’s not much to see in Kippei’s adaptation to the situation. This whole event is supposed to be a huge turn-around in Kippei’s life. He IS after all a boy. He’s 17. He’s supposed to be enjoying life to the fullest. I don’t see him struggling with all that. I find this disappointing.

Above all that, this is indeed a Shoujo manga. All the characters are drawn with beauty. Beauty in boys, beauty in girls, beauty in background, beauty in this, beauty in that. I find “beautiful” as a strong keyword in describing the art in Shoujos. Teenage romance is all over the story. Love and jealousy kinda adds taste to the story. Sex appeal adds more bitter and sweet to the plot. There is nothing unusual in this manga. It’s either that or I don’t think I have enough quality to be reviewing Shoujos.

I’m never a big fan of Shoujo. It’s not that I hate Shoujos, it’s because almost all the Shoujo I’ve read has nothing that amuses me. That goes the same for this “Aishiteruze Baby”. Aside from the main point of interest I mentioned above, I can’t find anything interesting from this manga.

As a closing note I want to emphasize what this story is really about in my opinion. After a closer look I notice that Yuzuyu is in fact a stronger character than Kippei. This manga tells the life of a 5 year old girl who was left alone with the thought that everyone in the world hated her. That girl struggles to earn love and care from others whilst never cease to worry that she will once again get lost in the world of loneliness. Fortunately she has a family who will always be there to take care of her.

Personal Rating
8/10

[Reviewer: Amir Syafrudin]

Leave a Reply

